Share your trips and real-time location from Google Maps with friends and family for a specific period of time

Google rolled out a new feature for Google Maps, which allows you to share your location with others. This way, you could easily allow a loved one to track your journey home, or let a colleague know how far you are from office. The new feature by Google Maps allows you to share your location to anyone, and you can choose how long this information is shared with that contact. Doing so is pretty simple, and it works the same way on both Android and iOS.

 

If they have a Google Account

  1. If you haven’t already, add their Gmail address to your Google Contacts.
  2. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app Google Maps and sign in. Learn how to sign in.
  3. Tap the Menu  and then Share location and then Add People Add people.
  4. Choose how long you want to share your location.
  5. Tap Select People.
    • If you’re asked about your contacts, give Google Maps access.
  6. Choose who you want to share with.
  7. Tap Share.

 

google maps share location google maps

 

google maps location timer google

If they don’t have a Google Account

  1. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app Google Maps and sign in. Learn how to sign in.
  2. Tap the Menu  and then Share location.
  3. Tap Copy to clipboard. People with this link can see your location for as long as you choose, up to 72 hours.

Share using another app

You can also share through messaging apps. Tap More More and then select an app.

Stop sharing

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap the Menu and then Share location.
  3. Next to the person with whom you want to stop sharing, tap Remove Remove.

Share your E.T.A

After you start your drive, you can share your destination, estimated arrival time, and where you are on the route.

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Set a driving destination. Learn how to navigate to a place.
  3. After you start navigation, tap More Up arrow and then Share trip progress.
  4. Choose a person from the list.
  5. Tap Share.
  6. Location Sharing will stop when you reach your destination or stop navigating.
  • To stop sharing before you arrive, tap More More and then Stop sharing.

See where someone is

If someone shares their location with you, you can see them on the map.

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. Tap the Menu  and then Share location.
  3. Choose someone.
  • To see an updated location, tap on a friend’s icon and then More More and then Refresh.

Stop seeing someone’s location

  1. Open the Google Maps app Google Maps.
  2. On the map, tap their icon.
  3. At the bottom, tap More More.
  4. To temporarily hide someone, tap Hide from map. You can stop hiding them at any time.

Note: You can stop someone’s location from ever appearing on your map. Learn how to block another person’s account.

Stop hiding someone

  1. Tap the Menu  and then Share location and then More More.
  2. Tapand then Hidden from map and then More More and then Show on map.

This is how you share your trip information with others via Google Maps in real time:

google maps location feature google maps

Sources: Google Support

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s